#tbt / fashion / styling

Throwback Thursday-My First Photo Shoot

Since it is Thursday, I was trying to come up with a good post for #tbt (aka “Throwback Thursday”) So I dug deep into my archives for this one….

Back in 2009 I had just moved to Washington DC from Miami and was trying to make friends/meet people. I saw a post on Craigslist for modeling casting call for a fashion show that had a month of rehearsal, at the college right up the street from where I had just moved to. I had never done modeling before, but I had just graduated with a degree in photography in Miami and had always loved fashion.  I figured the month long rehearsal schedule might be a fun opportunity to get to know people in the area. So bright eyed and bushy tailed I showed up to Howard University for the casting call. Little did I know there were going to be 550 people auditioning! I sat in a packed auditorium,  looked around and realized I was the only Caucasian female in the building. I leaned over to the girl next to me and politely asked if there was an ethnicity requirement. She smiled at me and said, “I suppose not, but this IS an African American college….” I didn’t know.  But after auditions and call backs I was cast as one of the 20 models that made the cut for the fashion show, and the first ever Caucasian female to walk in one of Howard University’s renowned runway shows. It was a great experience, and the gateway into my career in fashion. From there I went on to work full time in DC, New York, and the surrounding areas modeling for companies such as: Betsey Johnson, Sebastian hair products, DC Fashion Week etc. During rehearsals for the Howard University runway show I was introduced to Stephanie Reese, who asked if I would do a photo shoot with her. I shyly obliged telling her I wasn’t a model. I’ll never forget her response, “Don’t worry, I’ll make you one.”  …and she did 🙂

Howard University runway show:

Pictures From The Photo Shoot:

Leave a Reply

